One more game before heading off to college or in some cases, prep school.

That will be the story Friday night for the 24 players at the South Charleston Community Center, participating in the 2019 WVADA Boys Basketball North-South All-Star Classic.

The skills competition begins at 6 p.m., while tip-off for the basketball game is scheduled for 7:30 p.m.

Webster County head coach Michael Gray, who led the Highlanders to an undefeated season and a Class A state championship this past season, has been selected to coach the South all-stars, along with former Charleston Catholic head coach Matt Morrison.

Robbie Stracula from Parkersburg Catholic will coach the North all-stars, along with Jordan Toth from Lincoln. Stracula led the No. 6-seeded Crusaders to the Class A championship game with wins over No. 3-seed Notre Dame and No. 2-seed Wheeling Central.

Seven players from Region 3 will be part of the 12-man South roster led by Register-Herald Boys basketball Player of the Year, Bryce Radford from Woodrow Wilson. 

One of the best pure shooters in the state of West Virginia, Radford set the Woodrow Wilson single-game scoring record this season with 50 points against First Love Christian (Pa.) and had 45 against Bluefield later in the season.

Friday Radford returns to the floor where he nailed the game winning shot for Beckley in the Mountain State Athletic Conference Night of Champions Clash against George Washington.

Radford was also named to the Class AAA all-state first-team and All-MSAC first-team.

Joining Radford on the South roster from Region 3 is Jay Moore from Greater Beckley Christian, Noah Midkiff and Collin O’Dell from Greenbrier West, Robbie Williams from Charleston Catholic, Jacob Holliday from Richwood, along with Dorian Groggs and Tyler Gray who will represent the state champion Highlanders.

Moore, who averaged over 29 points per game, also set the Greater Beckley Christian single-game scoring record this season with a 58-point performance against St. Joseph back in January.

Moore, Midkiff, Williams, Groggs and Gray were all named to the Class A all-state first-team, while Holliday and O’Dell were named second-team all-state.

Rounding out the South roster is Devin Collins from Class AA state champion Chapmanville, Class AAA all-state first-team captain Bunky Brown from George Washington, Joel Sweat from Nitro and Will Hackney from Sissonville.

The North roster will be led by the Bill Evans Award winner, Jalen Bridges from Fairmont Senior. The Evans Award is given annually by the West Virginia Sports Writers Association to the state Player of the Year.

Bridges averaged 22.2 points per game and grabbed 6.3 rebounds for the Polar Bears who finished runner-up to Chapmanville for the second year in a row.

Joining Bridges will be teammate Zyon Dobbs, along with Gabe Zummo from Notre Dame, Griffin Phillips and Tyler West from Tyler Consolidated, Cam Selders from Morgantown, Daniel Woods and Joel Robertson from Trinity Christian, Elliot White from Elkins, Cullen Cutright from Williamstown, Cameron Williams from Musselman and Rodney Bucklew will represent Class AAA state champion University.

Email: and follow on Twitter @Rusman1981

React to this story: