The primary race for House of Delegates District 32 went down to the wire, with a mere 93 votes separating winner from loser for the final Democratic nomination in unofficial results.

The 32nd district includes all of Fayette County, plus small portions of Kanawha, Clay, Nicholas and Raleigh counties.

Three delegates are chosen from this district. All candidates were Democrats.

Unofficial results had incumbent Margaret Staggers with 3,693 votes, incumbent Dave Perry with 3,628 and incumbent John Pino at 3,477. Those three will face Mountain Party candidate Tighe Bullock in the fall for three seats in the House.

Pino edged out Tom Louisos who checked in with 3,384 ballots.

The competition fell off a bit after that, with Jonathan Walkup in fifth place (1,094) followed by William Stover (975) and Jan Lafferty (970).

Before last year’s redistricting, Perry, Pino and Staggers — all Democrats — represented the 29th district.

Louisos, a business owner in Oak Hill, was a member the House of Delegates for over 20 years, but lost to Pino in 2010.

Jan Lafferty is listed on the Secretary of State’s website as representing Prosperity in Raleigh County, although his mailing address is in Mount Hope, a Fayette County town.

William Stover of Bradley was the only other non-Fayette County candidate to run.

Lafferty and Stover, the two Raleigh candidates, remained the two lowest vote-getters.

— E-mail:

React to this story:


Trending Video