The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia

June 26, 2013

Field for Greenbrier Classic updated, still subject to change

By Cam Huffman
Sports Editor

— Greenbrier Classic director Monte Ortel released an updated list of the complete player field for The Greenbrier Classic Tuesday morning.

The list is still subject to change, because players have until Friday to commit to play in the event. The PGA TOUR sets up tournament fields using a points system, meaning a more accomplished player could bump a less accomplished player should he choose to add his name to the field.

There’s also a list of alternates who can be added to the field should a player already in the field choose to back out.

“It’s an always-changing process,” said Ortel, explaining that tournament officials are careful about releasing a list too early for that reason. “Things are always changing.”

There will also be a Monday qualifier on the Cobb Course at The Resort at Glade Springs to determine the final four spots in the 156-player field.

So far, though, the list is an impressive one.

n n n

Aside from the 10 winners of Major Championships — Keegan Bradley, Ben Curtis, John Daly, Lucas Glover, Justin Leonard, Phil Mickelson, Webb Simpson, Vijay Singh, Bubba Watson and Tom Watson — there are eight golfers who have won PGA TOUR events this season.

Ken Duke is the most recent, having won last week’s Travelers Championship. Boo Weekley was also a recent winner, taking the Crowne Plaza Invitational on May 26.

Sang-Moon Bae (HP Byron Nelson Championship), Billy Horschel (Zurich Classic of New Orleans), D.A. Points (Shell Houston Open), Scott Brown (Puerto Rico Open), Brian Gay (Humana Challenge) and Russell Henley (Sony Open) were also PGA TOUR winners in 2013.

n n n

All three past Greenbrier Classic champions — Stuart Appleby, Scott Stallings and Ted Potter Jr. — are committed to play, as are three members of “Team Greenbrier,” who represent the resort while out on TOUR. Greenbrier pro emeritus Tom Watson will play, as will Webb Simpson and Kenny Perry, who sport The Greenbrier’s logo on their bags and shirts when playing on TOUR.

n n n

Also in this year’s field are two former champions from The Golf Channel’s The Big Break.

Tommy Gainey won The Big Break VII: Reunion, and is now a member of the PGA TOUR. “Two Gloves” as he’s nicknamed, has won one PGA TOUR event, capturing the McGladrey Classic last October.

Mark Silvers was the winner of Big Break Greenbrier, the 18th season of the show.

One of the prizes for winning the show, which puts contestants through a variety of competitions, was to return to the site of his victory and play in The Greenbrier Classic.

The former South Carolina Gamecock has been playing in events on the mini-tours for most of 2013 but has stated his confidence in performing well at The Greenbrier Classic.

n n n

The Greenbrier chairman and CEO Jim Justice issued a sponsor’s exemption Monday to 19-year-old Jordan Spieth, who will play in his first Greenbrier Classic.

The Dallas native is the only golfer other than Tiger Woods to have won the U.S. Junior Amateur multiple times. The 2009 and 2011 Junior Amateur champion was the 2009 Rolex Junior Player of the Year. He played in the 2012 U.S. Open and finished tied for 21st.

As a professional this season, he has notched a pair of top 10 finishes, coming in seventh at the Puerto Rico Open and tied for ninth at the PBC Heritage at Hilton Head Island in April.

“He’s a really exciting player, and we’re really happy to have him be a part of this year’s field,” said Ortel. “He’s going to be fun to watch.”

n n n

Golfers won’t be the only celebrities on the grounds of The Old White TPC when The Greenbrier Classic is held July 1-7.

Remember The Miners announced this week that West Viriginia University basketball coach Bob Huggins will be in attendance to represent the group.

“What The Greenbrier has done, both with the resort itself and with the PGA TOUR, really invigorates West Virginians and shows the country that what we do in this state is world class,” said Huggins in a release. “My love for West Virginia and its hardworking people is why I got involved with Remember the Miners, to continue giving back to a state and community that has given so much to us.”

Remember the Miners is a public awareness campaign dedicated to honoring the legacy of all miners and the mining industry.

Remember the Miners will be part of the Badges for Charity program at The Greenbrier Classic. Fans can designate their tournament badges to non-profit organizations, and a portion of the proceeds will be passed on to those organizations. There is no additional cost to designate a badge to an organization.

— E-mail: chuffman@register- and follow on Twitter


Greenbrier Classic Player Field

Robert Allenby

Stephen Ames

Stuart Appleby

Sang-Moon Bae

Ricky Barnes

Charlie Beljan

Jonas Blixt

Jason Bohn

Justin Bolli

Steven Bowditch

Keegan Bradley

Michael Bradley

Scott Brown

Jonathan Byrd

Chad Campbell

Pat Carter

Roberto Castro

Greg Chalmers

Kevin Chappell

Gary Christian

Will Claxton

Erik Compton

Donald Constable

Ben Crane

Ben Curtis

John Daly

Brian Davis

Brendon de Jonge

Graham DeLaet

James Driscoll

Ken Duke

Bob Estes

Matt Every

Martin Flores

Brad Fritsch

Tommy Gainey

Scott Gardiner

Bobby Gates

Brian Gay

Tom Gillis

Lucas Glover

Fabian Gomez

Andres Gonzales

Jeff Gove

Luke Guthrie

James Hahn

Paul Haley II

Peter Hanson

Brian Harman

David Hearn

Russell Henley

J.J. Henry

Jim Herman

Justin Hicks

Morgan Hoffmann

Billy Horschel

Charles Howell III

Freddie Jacobson

Matt Jones

Robert Karlsson

Jerry Kelly

Michael Kim

Chris Kirk

Colt Knost

Russell Knox

Ben Kohles

Jason Kokrak

Doug LaBelle II

Scott Langley

Steve LeBrun

D.H. Lee

Richard H. Lee

Justin Leonard

Michael Letzig

David Lingmerth

Luke List

Bill Lunde

Jeff Maggert

Steve Marino

David Mathis

Troy Matteson

Billy Mayfair

William McGirt

George McNeill

Eric Meierdierks

Phil Mickelson

Bryce Molder

Seung-Yul Noh

Henrik Norlander

Sean O'Hair

Jeff Overton

Greg Owen

Ryan Palmer

Rod Pampling

Jin Park

Cameron Percy

Pat Perez

Kenny Perry

Tim Petrovic

Carl Pettersson

Scott Piercy

D.A. Points

Ted Potter, Jr.

Alistair Presnell

Dicky Pride

Chez Reavie

Patrick Reed

Tag Ridings

Andres Romero

Rory Sabbatini

John Senden

Kevin Shields

Wes Short, Jr.

Mark Silvers

Webb Simpson

Vijay Singh

Heath Slocum

Joey Snyder III

Jordan Spieth

Kevin Stadler

Scott Stallings

Kyle Stanley

Brendan Steele

Shawn Stefani

Darron Stiles

Robert Streb

Chris Stroud

Brian Stuard

Daniel Summerhays

Kevin Southerland

Andrew Svoboda

Vaughn Taylor

Josh Teater

Nicholas Thompson

D.J. Trahan

Cameron Tringale

Scott Verplank

Johnson Wagner

Jimmy Walker

Aaron Watkins

Nick Watney

Bubba Watson

Tom Watson

Boo Weekley

Mike Weir

Charlie Wi

Lee Williams

Casey Wittenberg

Gary Woodland