The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia

Other Sports

April 14, 2013

PGA made the right call in assessing Tiger’s penalty

BECKLEY — If you read the paper, or my Twitter or Facebook accounts, you’re well aware that I was lucky enough to spend Wednesday and Thursday at Augusta National Golf Club covering the 77th Masters Tournament and that I spent most of Saturday — while enjoying the action at the Scott Brown Memorial Classic —  wishing I was there and will surely have the same feelings today.

Apparently, a lot of people got the message, because I have somehow become the go-to authority on the tournament. Through tweets, e-mails, phone calls and personal conversations Saturday, I was continually asked my opinion on the Tiger Woods incident that has become the story of the tournament, the 2-stroke penalty that he was assessed well after his second round was over. Since I like golf, cover golf and have a fairly decent understanding of the game, people apparently want to know my opinion. Some don’t care about my opinion, but they do want a better understanding of what the controversy was all about.

For those of you who haven’t asked yet but still want to know, here are my answers to the most common questions.

What happened?

Part of golf’s problem is that it doesn’t explain the rules clearly enough to those who don’t understand the game. That’s what often leads to mass confusion and ill-informed tweets.

Basically, what happened was that Woods hit his third shot at the par-5 15th hole right on target. But the ball bounced off the flagstick, off the green and into the water for a penalty.

Woods had to take a penalty stroke, and his options for his fifth shot were to 1) drop in a designated drop area, 2) drop in front of where his ball first crossed the water or 3) hit another shot from the spot where he hit the first one.

Woods chose the third option and went back to his original spot. But because of what happened the first time he hit it, he decided to hit his next shot from a few yards farther away. His shot landed on the green and he putted in for a bogey.

So, what did he do wrong?

The rules for penalty drops state that if you choose to drop from the original spot, you must drop as close to the original spot as possible. Woods, perhaps confusing that option with the second option, which allows the golfer to move two club lengths from the spot where the ball crossed the hazard, didn’t do that. He dropped from farther back, giving himself a competitive advantage.

Why wasn’t it called right away?

Woods obviously was confused about the rule, so he didn’t call the penalty on himself, as is often the way infractions are enforced on the golf course. After receiving a tip from a television viewer, the Masters rules committee decided to take another look at the shot, and it originally determined that Woods, in fact, did do his best to drop as close to the original spot as possible.

What changed?

In a post-round interview with ESPN, Woods went into detail about the entire hole. In his explanation, he admitted that he hit his penalty shot from a couple yards farther back from the location of his first one. It then became obvious that Woods didn’t do his best to drop from the original spot. The committee reviewed the evidence again and determined that Woods should be penalized.

Was the penalty correct?

Yes. Woods should have received some sort of penalty. He broke a rule and admitted he broke a rule. Even if it was determined after the fact, and even if he didn’t intentionally try to cheat, the rules still apply in golf. It’s not like going back and changing a blocking call to a charge in basketball after the game. Post-round penalties happen all of the time in golf.

Why do some say he should have been disqualified?

The penalty in golf for signing an incorrect scorecard is disqualification. Since Woods should have been assessed a penalty for an illegal drop, the number on his Friday scorecard, which also contained his signature, was incorrect. In many cases, he would have been disqualified.

So, why was he saved?

There’s a fairly recent rule that states that the rules committee can use its discretion and avoid a disqualification if it determines that a player was unaware of a rules infraction when he signed his card. The Masters used this rule to assess Woods the 2-stroke penalty but allow him to play the weekend.

Was this the right call?

No. While I agree that kicking Woods out of the tournament for such a simple mistake is a penalty much too harsh for the crime, that is the way the rule reads. The exception was not made for an instance like this.

The spirit of the rule was not to protect a player who didn’t understand the rule. As is the case in the court system, ignorance of the law is not a defense.

The purpose of the rule was to prevent a player from being penalized when he didn’t know he broke a rule. For example, if a player’s ball moved when he was picking up his ball marker, but he never realized it moved.

To apply the rule to Friday’s scenario, the new rule would have been properly used had Woods thought he went back to the original spot, asked his playing partners if he was at his original spot, received confirmation that he was and then hit. Then, after the fact, video evidence picked up that he was not at the original spot. Although he would have been in violation, he would have been unaware, and therefore signing his scorecard with the wrong number would have only been a 2-stroke penalty.

But that wasn’t the case on Friday. Woods knew he was two yards behind the original spot, and he admitted it in an interview. By the letter of the law, he should have been disqualified.

It’s my belief that if the same thing would have happened to Keegan Bradley or Jason Dufner, he’d be on his couch watching today’s final round.

What happens now?

The ruling has been made, and Woods played his Saturday round. So nothing else can happen with this situation. The only question now will be how Woods’ victory will be received by golf fans and other players, if he should storm to a fifth green jacket today.

I’m not sure it should be, but I am sure that officials need to take another look at this rule and make the language clearer to avoid another situation like this moving forward.

— E-mail: chuffman@

register-herald.com and follow on Twitter @CamHuffmanRH.

1
Text Only
Other Sports
  • RH 080114saints1.jpg Intensity reaches new level at Saints training camp

    Following their first day off from training camp on Wednesday, the New Orleans Saints reported to their new $30 million practice facility at The Greenbrier Thursday full of energy and with an edge that hadn’t been seen through the first five practices.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • New Orleans practices bring back memories for Haas

    Bob Haas stood back away from the field Thursday, watching the action at the New Orleans Saints Greenbrier training camp intently but avoiding getting too close.

    August 1, 2014

  • West Virginia beats Danville Dans 5-1

    The West Virginia Miners may have their backs against the wall, but they aren’t throwing in the towel yet.

    July 31, 2014

  • Passions are high for the Big Four

    When it comes to the English Premier League, there are clubs and there are kings. 

     

    July 31, 2014

  • YMCA fall soccer registration underway
    Fall is just around the corner and registration is now open for youth soccer at the YMCA of Southern West Virginia.
     

    July 31, 2014

  • UBB memorial race Saturday in Princeton

    Princeton Speedway will host the 4th Annual Upper Big Branch Miners Memorial Race Saturday at 7 p.m. 

    July 31, 2014

  • Johnnie Ferri tourney set this weekend

    The 12th annual Johnnie Ferri Softball Tournament will be held Saturday, Aug. 2 and Sunday, Aug. 3 at Collins Park.

    July 31, 2014

  • bush Bush making Saints look good

    For his first four seasons, Rafael Bush was simply looking to land on a roster — any roster.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Practice, not temps, heats up for Saints
    The temperatures may have only been in the low 70s Tuesday afternoon at the Saints new practice facility at The Greenbrier, but now a third of the way into the 15 practices, it’s clear that the heat has turned up with playing time and positions on the line.

    July 30, 2014

  • Bowles has a support system
    Colin Bowles, the 14-year-old little brother of Corey, is coming into his own as a successful athlete. The younger Bowles competed last week at the U.S. Junior Amateur in The Woodlands, Texas, making the cut before bowing out in match play. Right there beside Colin, as he has been his entire life, was older brother Corey,

    July 30, 2014

Saints Training Camp

AP Video
Renewed Violence Taking Toll on Gaza Residents 2 Americans Detained in North Korea Seek Help US Employers Add 209K Jobs, Rate 6.2 Pct House GOP Optimistic About New Border Bill Gaza Truce Unravels; Israel, Hamas Trade Blame Raw: Tunisia Closes Borders With Libya Four Rescued From Crashed Plane Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide