The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia

Local News

August 7, 2012

W.Va. senators named to energy compact

CHARLESTON — Sens. Doug Facemire and Art Kirkendoll have been appointed to the Southern States Energy Board, a nonprofit compact created in 1960 to enhance economic development in the South.

Senate President Jeffrey Kessler, D-Marshall, named the two senators to the SSEB, which came via a state law and given the consent of Congress with a broad mandate to contribute to the economic and community well-being of the southern region of the U.S.

Facemire, D-Braxton, serves as chairman of the Energy, Industry and Mining Committee, and “brings viable knowledge and experience to the SSEB,” Kessler said.

“His experience provides the necessary understanding and knowledge to work with each member of the SSEB to promote the well-being of all citizens in our great state and the SSEB region,” Kessler said.

Kirkendoll was named to the Senate after Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin vacated his seat and office of presidency following last year’s special election.

“Sen. Kirkendoll’s vast experience in local and state government, as well as his knowledge of the coal industry and its importance to the state’s economy and work force, make him an excellent choice to serve on the SSEB,” Kessler said.

Besides West Virginia, the SSEB is comprised of Alabama, Arkansas, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Text Only
Local News