The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia

April 18, 2013

North-South basketball rosters announced

By J. Daniel Rollins
Register-Herald Sports Writer

— The question is as old as the game itself. Which region of West Virginia has the best high school basketball?

We’ll soon find out.

Twenty-six boys basketball players from around the state have been announced for this year’s WVADA North-South All-Star Basketball Classic, to be played on June 14 at the South Charleston Community Center.

Local standout, and newest West Virginia Mountaineer, Chase Connor of Shady Spring will represent the South team.

Connor led Shady to a 14-10 record this season, highlighted by a pair of games against Woodrow Wilson where he put up 36 and 35 points, respectively.

He was named a McDonald’s All-American nominee, as well as being selected first team All-State for Class AAA. It was the Tigers’ first year playing in the highest class in the state.

Connor will be joined on the South by Webster County's Brett Morris. Morris, who was selected as the MVP of the A-AA game at the Scott Brown Classic on Saturday, is relishing the opportunity for one more night on the hardwood.

“It’s definitely an honor to play with the best kids in the south,” Morris said. “I’m definitely looking forward to playing with Chase Connor again.”

The South will need the outside scoring threat of Connor and Morris if it hopes to be successful. It will face a significant size disadvantage to their northern counterparts.

The North team will be highlighted by WVU signee, 6-foot-9 Nathan Adrian of Morgantown, and 6-foot-7 player of the year Donte Grantham of Martinsburg.

“I think they're big, but I think our guards are pretty good,” Morris said. “I think we'll be quick and be able to run.”

The 6-foot-4 Morris will be joined by a trio of Scott Brown Classic opponents in 6-foot-7 Josh Martin of Greenbrier West and Austin Brewer and Mikey Newsome from Class A champion Tug Valley.

“It’s definitely going to be fun,” Morris said. “They’re tough to play against, so it’s going to be even better to play with them.”

Rounding out the South roster will be Mackinzie Martin (Chapmanville), Luke Eddy (George Washington), Ryan Meadows (Princeton), Ra’Shaud Kincaid (South Charleston), Angelo Sirianni (Nitro), Matt Dolin (Scott), Cody Morris (Herbert Hoover) and Levi Jordan (Buffalo).

Joining Adrian and Grantham on the North team will be Wes Mitchem (Parkersburg South), Chris Shields (Hedgesville), Cody Triplett (Trinity), Mark Winters (Magnolia), Travis Tomer (University), Logan Opyoke (Clay-Battelle), Mitchell Koch (Preston), Andrew Davis (Ritchie County), Jalen Lewis (Martinsburg), Tyler Sprouse (Bridgeport) and Travon Horton (Fairmont Senior.)

The North-South All-Star Classic will tip at 7:30 p.m. A free throw, 3-point shootout and dunk contest will open up the festivities at 6:15 p.m.

“I think I’m going to enter the dunk contest,"”Morris said with a laugh. “I still owe some dunks.”

— E-mail: jrollins and follow on Twitter at @JDanielRollins.