The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia

February 13, 2013

Washington named New River CTC president

From Staff Reports

— Dr. L. Marshall Washington, vice president of the Lancaster Campus of Harrisburg Area Community College in Pennsylvania, has been selected to serve as the third president of New River Community and Technical College.         

Washington’s appointment was announced following approval by the West Virginia Council for Community and Technical College Education at a special meeting Wednesday.  During their regularly scheduled meeting on Feb. 7, the New River Board of Governors voted to recommend him for approval by the Council       

“It is my pleasure to announce that the Board of Governors unanimously approved the appointment of Dr. Washington.” stated Leslie Baker, chair of the Board of Governors.

“The presidential search began last November. The college was fortunate to have a dedicated committee comprised of board members, faculty, student and staff representatives, and community members. Everyone brought a different perspective, but all came to focus on the singular goal of selecting a president who could lead New River as we begin our pivotal second decade as an institution. In Dr. Washington, we have found a person with great integrity, experience and vision.”

Washington will begin his new duties March 25. He says that he is very excited about coming to New River and representing the college throughout its service area.

“I readily identify with the community and have a vision for how we can work together to advance higher education across the region,” he said.