The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia

January 23, 2013

Raleigh receiving methane tax funds

By Mannix Porterfield
Register-Herald Reporter

— Raleigh County is getting $35,000 per quarter in the year ahead in tax proceeds generated by methane derived from coal waste dumps, and the windfall is being applied to infrastructure needs, Commission President Dave Tolliver said Tuesday.

Commissioner Pat Reed said this marks the first time the county has benefited from such revenue.

Two major projects in opposite ends of the county conceivably could use the funds, Tolliver pointed out.

“We’ve got some projects lined up for water and sewer,” he said.

“We’re working now on a sewer project at Glen Daniel and Fairdale. We need that very, very badly. They’ve got all those new businesses and it’s very expensive to put in your own septic system.”

And, if the commission is so inclined, Tolliver said some of the new money could be applied to the Bragg-Pluto water project, a $5.6 million project that entails some 23 miles of line.

Tolliver said the engineers have informed him that the design should be completed in two to three months, after which the county can apply for both state and federal funding. The county paid about $375,000 for the project’s design.

“We’re ready to apply for grants to pay for it,” the commission president said.

In other business, Sheriff Steve Tanner gained approval to hire Charlie Darlington and Pete Staton as school resource officers, and Kem Meadows as a civil processor.

Commissioners approved a resolution recognizing the New River Gorge Regional Development Authority as its lead authority in economic improvement.

An emergency solutions drawdown of $20,786.90 was approved.

The commission also voted to give David Bryant two months to clear up debris on his property in Eccles.

Commissioners also approved appointments and re-appointments to these boards:

Coalfields Expressway Authority, Jack “Gordie” Roop; New River Parkway Authority, Delegate John O’Neal, R-Raleigh;

Board of Zoning Appeals, Jerry Fink, Russell Manns and Judy Hackney; Building Code Appeals Board, Lloyd Crook; Landmarks Commission, David Sibray and Scott Worley; Planning and Zoning Commission, Greg Dacal; Building Commission, Michael Cochran; Bradley Public Service District, Damon Sweeney; Cool Ridge-Flat Top PSD, Hazel Burroughs; Crab Orchard-MacArthur PSD, Terry Poe; and WRMS-EMS Inc., Marty Agee and Paul Seamann.

— E-mail: