The Register-Herald, Beckley, West Virginia


June 2, 2013

WVSOM honors employees at Spring Awards Ceremony

The West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine (WVSOM) recognized employees for their service and work to the institution during its annual Spring Awards Ceremony.

During the ceremony, 26 awards were given to faculty, staff and students. A total of $36,200 was rewarded to award recipients this year.

“This is always a big day to celebrate our institution. We appreciate the efforts of our faculty and staff who contribute to the quality of WVSOM’s education,” said James Nemitz, Ph.D., vice president for administration and external relations.

The President’s Awards of Excellence for Employee Achievement is given to classified and non-classified employees in different departments who are recognized by faculty and staff members for making a significant effort to go above and beyond their normal job duties to enhance the goals of WVSOM.

The 2013 President’s Awards recipients were chosen by a vote from their peers. The classified employees were: Susan Griffith, Sherri Miller, Donette Mizia, Karla Pauley, Danny Seams, Jennifer Seams, Leah Stone, Elayne “Charlie” Brown, Billie Hamrick, Rebekah McDowell, Eric Dixon, Joel Hayes and Theresa McMillion. The non-classified employees were Malcom Modrzakowski and Lance Ridpath.

The 2013 President’s Outstanding Faculty Awards are presented to faculty members for recognition of their excellence in teaching and committing to osteopathic medical education. One clinical science and one biomedical science recipient is given the award. Edward Bridges, Ph.D., and Rachel Johnson, D.O., were the winners.

The Outstanding Employee of the Year award recognizes employees who have gone above and beyond their job duties to help move the institution forward. Susan Griffith and Karla Pauley from the Office of Business Affairs were the winners of the award.

The Osteopathic Principles and Practice (OPP) Integration Teaching Awards are presented to faculty members on and off campus. The recipients are recognized for their efforts in teaching students and who have excelled in integrating OPP in their classes. This year’s winners were Ernest Miller, D.O. (clinical adjunct science), Rachel Johnson, D.O., and Bonny Dickinson, Ph.D.

The Atlas Club Golden Key Awards are given to a biomedical science faculty member, clinical science faculty member and visiting lecturers who are selected by students. This year’s recipients were Peter Ward, Ph.D., David Leech, D.O., and visiting lecturers Dara Aliff, D.O., and Michael Lao, M.D.

The Student Government Association Appreciation Certificates are given to employees for their work and support on behalf of students during the school year. This year’s recipients were Harvey Smith, Belinda Evans and John Schriefer, Ph.D., along with Clinical Evaluation Center staff Amy Holbrook, Angie Amick and Sara Kirk.

Text Only